Possession Islands

The Possession Islands are a group of nine islands and islets lying in the
western part of the Ross Sea. They were named by Captain James Ross in
commemoration of his planting of the British flag and taking possession in
the name of the British Sovereign on 12 January 1841. Possession Island and
Svend Foyn Island are the two largest islands in the group. Both are home to
significant colonies of Adélie penguins. If time and weather permit, you will
have the opportunity to view the historic site along with the resident wildlife.